Getting Hot Over Here

Well, just finished up a major love scene. Hot. Need a drink, or a shower–whatever I can reach first. And I’m proud to announce that I’m getting close to the finish line!

20160117_163212.jpg

After figuring their shit out, it’s finally time to start wrapping up plot points. Pretty soon, I’ll be revealing the cover and the hunk of choice with it. I’m super excited to finally show off my mad cover skills, ya’ll. And I promise abs…really good, smexy, hot, entirely delicious abs that we all love, because let’s face it, that’s what it’s all about, no?

And as I get nearer and nearer to finishing the first draft, I find myself wondering how I managed to do it in under two weeks. Honestly, most of those two weeks were a blur. One big F’ing blur. I’m pretty sure after I finish this book, I’m taking a semi-vacation to focus on school and the children, because I’ve neglected nearly all of my family to write. True story.

A little excerpt to end my little post here. Meet our newest heroine, Lilly Hughes.


I watched my instructor as he pulled away and set off down the large, open hallway of the facility. His body was impeccable—toned, slender, and angular—and if he wasn’t such a bastard all the time, I might have fallen in love with him. But that was neither here nor there. I couldn’t fall in love. I had to secure a position on the dream team before I could even think about boys.

My friend, Malakai, would say that I’m a workaholic, too focused on the job to think about anything—including the poor state of my hair and nails—but I couldn’t be bothered by it. Immediately after school, I had taken a position with the Guardians. I trained arduously every day in the last three years, and I even spent what little free time I did have honing any skills that were overshadowed by my genetic predisposition: deadly clumsiness. An inherent trait that was my biggest adversary in my pursuit of the dream team.

I curled my hands into fists, cursing underneath my breath as I headed back the way I came. My auburn hair flew into my face, effectively destroying my composure for a moment while I swatted at it and blew the tickly sensation away. Finally, when my hair remained rebellious, I used both hands to tear the silky auburn tendrils away as if they burned. And then an instant later, my own foot took me to the floor, knees colliding with a loud thump as I collapsed into a mess of limbs to the hard marble surface.

I managed to recover fairly quickly, but still received a few bouts of laughter from the surrounding Guardians that were passing through that particular hallway towards whatever class or lesson they were due for.

“Heya Lilly,” someone called after I spat out a stray hair that had somehow managed to get lodged inside my mouth and wiped the floor bits from my training pants. “Whoa, you looked pissed.”

I eyed my tall friend. He was about eight-foot-five, which dwarfed my five-foot-eight despite it being well above average for a witch. I was the tallest in my class, until I came to this compound that is. And the dude was part giant. It’s not really his fault that his mother was a giant and his father had a thing for tall women.

His slender figure loomed over me, but I never felt any fear around Malakai. He was a big teddy bear—harmless to anyone that knew him. The light brown eyes paired with his sandy locks only added more depth to his sweet boy vibe. He wouldn’t hurt a fly, but he was immensely talented and could easily hurt a demon or Dark creature in any given situation. He was two years behind me, having been scouted by our very own Belfair for the Guardians. He was due to join his own Guardian team soon, and I couldn’t find it in myself to be bitter about it. If anyone deserved it, Malakai did.

“Hey Malakai,” I greeted, nodding my head at him and continuing my trek towards my room.

I had spent the entire afternoon training. I was still clumsy, as Belfair so sweetly reminded me three times during our session. But I was talented with my magic—top of the class. It still meant very little when I had no team to call my own.

I had gotten myself into a bit of hot water last month during our practical. But it wasn’t my fault that Ed Lampert got in between me and the fireball I was sending at the target, and I just so happened to burn both his eyebrows and hair magically, causing it to take three weeks to start to grow back. Even with the help of magical solvents. Ed had ugly ass boyband hair, and he was a bastard that liked to perve on the girls in class.

The jerk had it coming.

Malakai trailed beside me, glancing a few times at me as I mumbled underneath my breath about my horrible luck with perves. “Want to talk about it?”

“What’s there to talk about, Malakai? I fucked up. I’m a fuck up, just like my dad. Dad never made it to a team. Just got a desk, a plastic stapler, and a whole lot of paperwork. What if they send me to a desk? What the hell am I going to do with myself if I’m glued to a chair all day?” I ranted with the wave of my arms.

Malakai shook his head sheepishly. “You won’t, Lils. There’s no way they’d put you behind a desk with a talent like yours.”

“Talent means nothing when you have a knack for making mistakes and stumbling over your own feet, Malakai,” I retorted with a small, reproachful expression.

“Did they reject your application again?” he asked, stabbing painfully at raw wounds.

I groaned, smacking my head once, then again for emphasis. “Yes. Again. I don’t know why I bother.”

“Because you’re meant to be on their team,” Malakai surmised firmly. His face was hard to look at from this angle, so I just offered his lithe torso a grim look before turning the corner into a corridor.


 

clueless-fall-off-bed

Our heroine is a bit of a clumsy-mumsy. It’s one of her endearing qualities. But thankfully, she’s one badass chick with a katana! Hopefully this gets you all a bit more excited about the new story coming. There’s going to be a lot of action and a whole lot more intrigue with the story line.

Cover reveal coming soon!!

Until next time….go out there and write, you crazy kids!

 

Author: Brianna West

I'm a simple woman, living in the modern world and desperately looking for my next adventure away from it. I recently debuted my series, Promiscus Guardians, and am hoping to blog those experiences through here as I go along. There's a lot of laughter to be sure!

3 thoughts on “Getting Hot Over Here”

    1. Super sore fingers lol. But it’s sooo worth it. Hoping to finish up tonight and then start with my several edit run through of the book, scrutinizing every inch of it. Striking out the overused and incorporating the new!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

